Award-winning Traditional Bluegrass!

July 11, 2016

A video captured backstage at a recent performance of Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper has gone viral in just a matter of days thanks to a popular Facebook Page, InspireMore. They shared the backstage jam on "Jerusalem Ridge" between Michael and mandolinist Nathan Livers on their page and within a week's time, the video had over 5 million views, driving a tremendous amount of traffic to the band's Facebook page and website. If you haven't seen the video, be sure to check it out HERE!!

May 10, 2016

We want to thank all of you for joining us last month at the World Famous Station Inn! We had a packed house and a great time! Special thanks to our friend Dan Boner for the great photos! Check them out HERE!!

February 8, 2016

Michael Cleveland has once again been awarded SPBGMA's Fiddle Player of the Year! The awards ceremony was held Sunday, February 7th in Nashville, Tennessee as part of SPBGMA's National Convention.

January 21, 2016

The 2016 SPBGMA Nominations have been announced and Michael Clevland & Flamekeeper are up for two awards: Bluegrass Instrumental Group of the Year and Michael Cleveland for Fiddle Player of the Year! The National SPBGMA Awards will take place on Nashville, Tennessee at the Sheraton Music City Conference Center on Sunday, February 7th. The band will perform on the main stage on Saturday, February 6th.

December 17, 2015

Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper are proud to welcome Cody Looper as their newest member effective immediately.

Raised in a musical family in Anderson, Indiana, Cody Looper started playing guitar when he was 9 years old and eventually joined his first band alongside his father. Soon after, Looper began playing mandolin and eventually banjo, cutting his teeth on the musical genius of Earl Scruggs. Looper spent the subsequent years playing in various groups and most recently with Blue Mafia. Looper credits his time with Blue Mafia as an opportunity to grow as a professional musician and says he owes his banjo technique to the influences of many talented musicians such as Tony Wray, Avery Perry, Ron Stewart, Jim Mills, Ron Block, J.D. Crowe.

Looper will be replacing former Flamekeeper member, Gaven Largent who recently accepted the dobro position with Blue Highway. "I've always been impressed that while coming up with really creative ideas, Cody never loses sight of the traditional side of banjo playing," says Michael Cleveland. "You can hear a little bit of all the great banjo players in his playing, but even more important, you can hear things that are definitely his own style. I'm looking forward to what he will bring to the Flamekeeper sound." "I have always been a fan of Michael's music and especially enjoyed getting to jam with him," says Looper. "I'm super excited to start this new chapter of my career with Flamekeeper."